Opinion

Opinion (262)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Friday, 11 April 2014 15:15

Asbell would have constant Halifax presence

Written by

For 13 years, I have served as the Elected District Attorney for Bertie, Hertford and Northampton Counties with pride and integrity. As the only candidate for District Attorney with the experience managing a multi-county district, I understand that each courthouse operates differently.

Friday, 28 March 2014 18:49

Pelfrey encourages study of statistics

Written by

Melissa D. Pelfrey, candidate for District Attorney for the new District 6 (comprised of Bertie, Halifax, Hertford, and Northampton Counties), wants residents of those counties to review the annual statistics compiled by the state Administrative Office of the Courts when considering their choice of the candidates for District Attorney.

Thursday, 13 March 2014 19:24

Macon remains staunch Democrat

Written by

We are at the beginning of a transformation in politics in Halifax County.

Thursday, 13 March 2014 19:10

Tougher questions needed for coalition

Written by

I wholeheartedly agree with your comments, but think some tougher questions should be asked of the Coalition for Education and Economic Security, NAACP and Concerned Citizens of Tillery.

Wednesday, 12 March 2014 10:16

Coalition has short memory, sets double standard

Written by

The Coalition for Education and Economic Security seems to have forgotten how on one of the hottest days of summer last year it stood lockstep with the Halifax County school system pushing its agenda of school merger.

Tuesday, 18 February 2014 15:16

The Friday of my discontent

Written by

In most instances imaginable, I am weird.

Friday, 07 February 2014 15:27

CVS and DrugCo: Why free markets are beautiful

Written by

The free market system is a thing of beauty, allowing business owners big or small to sell what they please, as long as the product is not banned or a controlled substance.

Monday, 03 February 2014 21:03

Here's that list of Coke products to boycott

Written by

Here, to begin with, is the exhaustive list of Coca-Cola products you will have to boycott if you found the soda company's stirring, patriotic ad aired during the Super Bowl offensive.

Monday, 27 January 2014 18:07

Ruminations on milk and bread

Written by

The funniest thing about winter, other than leathery-skinned tanned people fainting when the mercury drops below 50, is the milk and bread crowd.

Page 1 of 21