Opinion

Opinion (380)

"A free press can, of course, be good or bad, but, most certainly without freedom, the press will never be anything but bad" — Albert Camus

Friday, 05 February 2016 12:00

No need for predictions — it's been decided

Written by

I'm dispensing with writing a Super Bowl prediction column because there appears to be only one team playing.

Wednesday, 20 January 2016 12:40

Crossroads vote a chance for a Mulligan

Written by

If there had to be a decision made on the rezoning of the former Carolina Crossroads concert site Tuesday night then the one made to continue the hearing on the matter made more sense than just flat out rejecting the proposal as was the original direction four members of city council were headed.

Monday, 11 January 2016 16:04

From the sheriff: A year with the task force

Written by

Last January, the Halifax County Sheriff's Office joined forces with the Roanoke Rapids and Weldon police departments to form the City County Drug Task Force.

Thursday, 31 December 2015 10:47

2015: Rambling ruminations on Plath, pigs and Paltrow

Written by

As I sit here thinking about the past year and all I have seen and reported on, I thought a year in review might be the way to say goodbye to 2015.

Monday, 21 December 2015 08:26

When Santa comes to Woodland

Written by

When Santa Claus comes to Woodland its residents should be prepared to receive extra treats for enduring the vicious slurs which came from idiots on the Internet who misinterpreted, nay, flat out twisted, a simple story on the rejection of a solar farm proposal.

So Wednesday, which turned out to be a wasted day, driving to Greenville only to find out the event I was going to cover wasn't going to happen, ended up being at least a good factoid day.

Wednesday, 09 December 2015 07:00

Thanks, Roanoke Rapids, for a great Christmas parade

Written by

After having a few days to reflect, it's time to say thanks to the city of Roanoke Rapids and all the parade sponsors for putting on another successful event Sunday.

The recent changes to the North Carolina Firearms laws — House Bill 562 — have created some inconvenience for Halifax County residents.

Friday, 04 December 2015 07:53

Lance for council? Probably not

Written by

Covering the tree-lighting ceremony Thursday night, I found myself inside Lloyd Andrews City Meeting Hall.

Having recently moved — nestled into my new pad for just more than a week now — I have gained a greater appreciation for shopping locally.

Wednesday, 25 November 2015 11:04

Public Health Matters: Maintain, don't gain

Written by

Turkey, dressing, cakes, and pies, Oh, my!

Thursday, 19 November 2015 16:19

From the sheriff: A prayer vigil and prayer

Written by

Tuesday night at 7 p.m. in the Roanoke Rapids Theatre, the City County Drug Task Force will host a prayer vigil.

Page 1 of 24

Latest Comments

Search

Who's Online

We have 1391 guests and no members online

Login Form